Cambodian Lawmakers Approve National Assembly’s Structure And Members Of New Government

date_range 22-Aug-2023
visibility 8

Phnom Penh, August 22, 2023 --

The National Assembly (NA) has approved its structure and given a vote of confidence to the members of the 7th-mandate Royal Government of Cambodia.

A total of 123 out of 125 lawmakers gave their approval and vote of confidence at the first session of the 7th Legislature of the National Assembly held here at the NA Palace this morning under the chairmanship of Samdech Akka Moha Ponhea Chakrei Heng Samrin, the eldest Member of NA.

H.E. Kitti Sangaha Pundit Khuon Sudary, former Second NA Vice President, was endorsed to be the NA President, while H.E. Cheam Yeap remains as the First NA Vice President and H.E. Vong Sauth, former Minister of Social Affairs, Veterans and Youth Rehabilitation, was approved to be the Second NA Vice President.

At the same time, H.E. Kitti Tesaphibal Pundit Hun Manet was fully supported as the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia.

In the National Election on July 23, 2023 with the participation of 18 political parties, the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) won 120 NA seats, while the royalist FUNCINPEC Party got the 5 remaining seats.

Among the newly-elected lawmakers, there are 16 women. The eldest lawmaker is 89 years old, while the youngest is 37 years old.